new old sign send
design host

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)
19 July 2002 1:07 p.m.
old friends (the kind that send you hilarious email messages about buying used cars) are also the best friends
old friends (the kind that send you hilarious email messages about buying used cars) are also the best friends

Hey Dotti,

You're never going to believe what I did last Friday. I bought a truck! I had been thinking about getting a light Japanese pickup, but this ain't no rice burnin' wimpy thang! It's a Ford F-150. Hey, the price was right, even though I still can't afford a new vehicle. The Honda will have at least 200k miles by the end of the year, and I thought it would be good to have a backup vehicle with all the traveling we do. It's a 1995, but only had 5,600 miles on it. I happened to notice that the Albuquerque auto auction would be auctioning off a couple hundred government fleet vehicles, all with low miles and which have been meticulously maintained. Many of them ran on alternative fuels, and the one I got runs on both gasoline and compressed natural gas, so I feel a little better about myself. (I should also mention that this was the first auction I'd ever attended, which was a cultural experience in itself. Lots of loud whoopin' and hollerin', a fast talkin' auctioneer...) When this truck came on the block my heart was pounding, I was sweating profusely... I acted like I knew what I was doing, a few subtle nods of the head, and less than one minute after it began, I was given the claim papers to sign.)
Anyway, I need your advice on how to modify my behavior. I've already got the two-fingered-above-the-steering-wheel-wave/acknowledgement gesture down for when I pass trucks going to the other way. And I've found myself listening to a lot of classic rock and country format radio stations. I guess the Ford pickup is more of a country hick thing, but I'm also attracted to the white trash possibilities too. Any suggestions for accessories?

~*~


last - next
magnoliasue - dottisue
recent entries:
end game - 20 October 2005
dotti is ... - 02 August 2005
the starkweather boys - 01 August 2005
people who listen to NPR are weird - 21 July 2005
the snozberries taste like snozberries - 19 July 2005